The 50th District

Freemasonry in the Capitol City and Travis County

President: Charles E. Maddox

Vice President: Robert A. Culbert

Secretary: Robert L. Eschenburg

Treasurer: Curtis A. Gilgan

Stated meeting are held on the forth week of January, April, July, and October on the day of the week the host Lodge would conduct their Stated meeting on (i.e. Austin No. 12 would host the 4th Monday, Hill City No. 456 would host the 4th Tuesday, etc..). All Masons are welcome and encouraged to attend the quarterly meetings. It's a great way to catch up with what's going on around the district. Check the calendar on the Home page for the next meeting!



Article I


Section A - The name of this Association shall be “The Masters, Wardens, and Secretaries Association, A.F. & A.M. of the 50th Masonic District of Texas” and this Association exists only at the will and pleasure of the Grand Lodge of Texas, acting through the Grand Master, and, in turn, through the District Deputy Grand Master in of the District.

Article II


Section A – This Association is a cooperative service organization dependent upon the Masonic Lodges of the 50th Masonic District of Texas for support and has no authority or right to concern itself in any manner with the business or other affairs of the Lodges of this District, or of any member thereof. All members of this Association shall retain all rights and privileges invested in them as Master Masons under the Constitution and Laws of the Grand Lodge of Texas and nothing herein shall ever be construed to restrict such rights in any manner.

Section B – The purpose of this Association shall be:

(1) To assist the District Deputy Grand Master and members of any Grand Lodge Committee in the performance of their duties when requested.

(2) To promote a cooperative plan of attendance when all the Lodges of the 50th Masonic District act as host to the M:W: Grand Master and visiting Masons when in attendance at the annual Regional or District meetings.

(3) To foster and encourage ideas and plans determined to promoting better spirit of Brotherhood and widen acquaintances among the Brethren of this District.

(4) To promote and support educational meetings designed to bring more light to all Master Masons.

Article III


Section A – All Worshipful Masters, Wardens, and Secretaries of Lodges in the 50th Masonic District shall by virtue of their respective offices be members of this Association. In addition, this association includes all Past Masters and affiliated Past Masters of Lodges in the 50th Masonic District

Section B – Each member present shall be entitled to one vote in the transaction of business. Other Masons present shall have no vote in the transaction of business, but may offer suggestions for consideration, participate in any debate, and serve on committees when properly appointed.

Article IV


Section A – The officers of this Association shall be a President, a Vice-President, a Secretary, and a Treasurer; each of whom shall be elected from the membership and by a majority vote of the members present. The office of the Secretary and Treasurer may be combined at the discretion of this Association.

Section B – No President shall succeed himself in office.

Section C – In case of the death, resignation, inability, or refusal to serve of the President, the Vice-President shall assume the duties of that office until the next regular meeting of the Association at which time that office shall be filled by election. In the event a vacancy occurs in the office of the Vice-President, Secretary, or Treasurer, the President may appoint a pro-tem officer until the next regular meeting of the Association at which time that office will be filled by election.

Article V


Section A – Not less than four meetings shall be held per annum.

Section B – The regular meetings of this Association shall be held in January, April, July, and October on the 4th evening of the meeting day of the host lodge. The host lodge shall rotate, sequentially by lodge number, among the currently active lodges of the 50th Masonic District.

Section C – The election of officers shall be held at the first regular or called meeting after June 24th and prior to August 1st.

Section D – Called meetings may be held at any time on written notice mailed to all members by the President at least five days prior to such meeting.

Section E – Any business proper to be transacted by this Association may be transacted at either a regular or called meeting, except amendments to these By-Laws.

Section F – All meetings of this Association shall be opened and closed with prayer.

Article VI


Section A – The order of business at regular or called meetings shall be as follows, unless otherwise ordered by the President.

(1) Opening Prayer

(2) Pledge to US and honors to TX flags

(3) Roll Call of Lodges

(4) Read minutes of preceding meeting(s)

(5) Reports of Committees

(6) Unfinished Business

(7) New Business

(8) Announcements

(9) Program

(10) Closing Prayer

Article VII


Section A – The President may appoint such committees as he deems desirable and necessary to carry out the various activities of the Association.

Article VIII


Section A – The work of this Association shall be carried on by dues set periodically by the association and voluntary contributions.

Article IX


Section A – No amendments to the by-laws, either by alteration or addition, shall be made, unless in the following manner:

(1) The proposed amendment must be in writing, signed by the proposer(s), and presented and read at a regular meeting of this Association, at which time it may be discussed and amended, if necessary.

(2) At the next regular meeting of this Association, it shall again be considered and voted upon without further amendment and approved by a two-third majority of the regular members present.

(3) With approval of the Grand Lodge, the proposed amendment shall become a part of the by-laws of this Association.

This is to certify that The Masters, Wardens, and Secretaries Association A.F. & A.M. of the 50th Masonic District has on the 28th Day of January 2016 adopted the above by-laws.


CURTIS GILGAN, Bylaws Committee Chairman